On the occasion of Mental Health Awareness Week 2023 (15-21 May), I am happy to share my latest interview with Open Journal, a podcast about mental health, illness, wellness, stigma and support.

In the interview, hosted by campaigner and Top 10 ranked UK Mental Health Blogger Mike Douglas, I share my personal story about living with bipolar disorder and explain some of the ways I manage anxiety and stress at work.

I also talk about my dog, Ziggy, the importance of my marriage and having strong support network, about Alberto Milazzo‘s stigma-smashing stage play about mental health, and my passion for The Rooftop – a media title founded by Campaign Collective, which is focused entirely on positive news.

Check out Tom’s interview on Spotify and Apple Podcasts at the links below

Spotify – listen to Tom on Open Journal: Ep269

Apple Podcasts – Listen to Tom on Open Journal: Ep269

Thanks to Mike Douglas for your warmth, passion and professionalism, and for listening to my ramblings!

Special thanks also to my ever-patient husband, Alberto, for being a constant source of strength, support, and inspiration.


Previous podcast interviews

I first appeared on Open Journal in November 2016 (Ep184) 18 months after receiving a bipolar disorder diagnosis and more than 10 years since I first visited a GP with feelings of depression and anxiety (during my mid-twenties).

Listen to Tom on Open Journal Ep184, available on Spotify / Apple Podcasts. 

The wonderful Mike was kind enough to invite me back on for a second catch-up interview in June 2020, where I spoke about life and challenges during the Covid-19 lockdown. So this latest episode (Ep269), published on 16 May 2023, is a third instalment.

Listen to Tom on Open Journal Ep43, available on Spotify / Apple Podcasts


Find mental health support

If you are experiencing a mental health problem, or supporting someone who is, there’s lots of useful information, advice, and guidance on mind.org.uk.

If you need to talk to someone about your problems, you may find an emotional support line helpful.

In the UK, you can call Samaritans on 116 123 – calls are free any time, from any phone. ⁠Lines are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. You can also email jo@samaritans.org or visit www.samaritans.org. Or you can text SHOUT to 85258.⁠

If you live in the USA, you can call or text the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline at 988, and you can also contact the Crisis Text Line (text HELLO to 741741). 

Side profile photo of Tom York looking pensively into the distance. Tom is wearing sunglasses and is resting his head on his left hand. It is a sunny day and in the distant background the Acropolis of Athens is visible.

Leave a comment